Posted by: jay52 | April 8, 2010

Day 1: The cleanse

Hours of sleep: 9hrs in and out  Weight: 167.8  Caloric In-take:700

Exercise:

Since I randomly decided to do this.  I had to start on day 3 of p90x which is Arms and Shoulders followed by Abs X.  I would advise starting in the morning on an empty stomach.  If this isn’t a good time for you, just remember you should always wait atleast 1 hour after eating before doing a heavy workout routine.  It was exhausting and I feel pretty good after doing it.  Followed right after with about 8oz of water 1 banana, and 3 strawberries mixed together really well in a Blender until it had a smoothie consistency.  I then added 1 cup of whey protein and mixed for 20 seconds because it always has too much air/foam if you mix starting with the fruit.

I also shot some basketball for about 30minutes.

My Cleanse:

I don’t believe in most of these fad cleanses that have no protein that last way to long.  After awhile of your body not getting the right amount of nutrients which include fat and protein it goes into starvation mode.  Making your body hold onto any extra calories from fat and protein and turning it into fat cells just in case you start starving again it has that extra energy to keep you alive.  It is a natural process that our bodies have learned since the dawn of man. From when we would go days without good.  Which is another reason our minds tell us to keep eating even after we are full.  But I did need to clear out my system so why not try a tiny 2 day cleanse of fruit and whey protein with lots of water.  It shouldn’t put me into starvation mode but should clean out the bad fat and chemicals I’ve been eating recently.  It really couldn’t hurt right?

So basically 3 times a day I am mixing two types of fruit, with one scoop of whey protein, and 80z of water in a blender.   My first is after my morning workout.  From what I’ve heard and read about, it’s best to get some protein, antioxidants, and vitamins in your system within the 1hour window after your workout because your muscles and other organs are primed for nourishment.  It took me a while to drink my post workout shake because I was little nauseous and dizzy.  But my second one was awesome and delicious.  I waited about 3 hrs after my first to make my second one.  I will do the same for my last one.  I am not starving or anything today.  So hopefully tomorrow will be the same way.  I do love to eat after all.

Skin Care:

I have combination skin.  Which means it gets oily in my T-zone (forehead and nose bridge).  I also have random acne breakouts all over my face, shoulders, and back.  It is mild at the moment because I keep it under control with many different products.  I also have large pores on my nose and on my cheek area by my nose.  I think this was caused when I was little from sun damage and bad peeling.  I am hoping that my skin care regimen along with the changes in my diet and exercise will completely eradicate my acne and help reduce my pore size.

Today post workout-post post workout smoothie during my post work out shower.  I do love using that post suffix ;).  I used a Salicylic Acne Scrub (use once every 3 days on entire face and every time you shave on hair follicles) lightly scrubbing my face avoiding the sides of my nose under my nostrils and the areas under my chin that tend to over dry and peel, followed by a Panoxyl Bar (which is a 10% Benzoyl Peroxide bar) over my face avoiding the same areas, shoulders, chest and back.  I only leave it on my face for about 40seconds.  Because it tends to dry out my face and peel If I leave it on too long.

I use one of those round loofahs from Bath & Body Works because they are the most exfoliating out of any I have found lathered with Olay Quench Body Wash to wash my body.  I haven’t shaved or tanned in awhile so I don’t use a Post Shower Moisturizer  ATM.  I would suggest that everyone uses one.  Because the skin on your body is just as important as the skin on your face.  When I do I will give my reviews on the different lotions I already have.

After my shower I use Korresnatural Evening Primrose eye cream for my dark circles and anti aging (you can find this at Sephorah’s or online) I have had it for like 7 months so it is worth the 30 or so $s.  It has greatly reduced my dark circles but I still have to use concealer sometimes to hide them totally.  I then use L’oreal Skin Genesis on the areas of my face with large pores.  Followed by either Aloe Vera if my face feels overly cleansed (red, really shiny, and taunt) to prevent peeling.  Or which I used today Biore’ nourish oil-free moisture lotion with SPF 15.  Always use some kind of SPF 15+ on your face if you are going outside.  Since I shaved and am prone to ingrown hairs/razor irritation I used Neutrogena Razor Defense Post Shave Lotion.

Before I go to sleep I wash with a light Salicylic Acid Face Wash to prevent acne breakouts using  Primrose Eye Cream, Skin Genesis first, and then after it dries Biore’ hard day’s night overnight moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

